The Breeders - Katie French

The Breeders

By Katie French

  • Release Date: 2012-08-01
  • Genre: Sci-Fi
Score: 4
4
From 12 Ratings

Description

Do you miss The Hunger Games? Unable to find a book that will keep you turning pages long into the night?

100,000 copies sold. 400 four and five-star reviews. Kindle Book Awards 2014 Semi-finalist. Multiple category Amazon Best Seller. You've found your next obsession. 


,
When Riley was born, her mother escaped the Breeders, the group of doctors using cruel experiments to bolster the dwindling human race. Her parents do everything possible to keep her from their clutches-moving from one desolate farm after another. But, the Breeders control everything. And they're hunting Riley.

When the local Sheriff abducts the other members of her family, Riley and her brother Ethan are left to starve. Then Clay arrives, the handsome gunslinger who seems determined to make up for past sins. But Clay can't know she's female, or he might sell her to the very people she's trying to avoid.

As Riley's affection for Clay grows she wonders can she trust him with her secret? She's worth a lifetime's wages. How could anyone give up an opportunity like that?

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Gender Game, The Breeders is a book that will have you turning pages long past your bedtime. Pick up your copy today.

Reviews

  • The breeders.

    5
    By vickireads37
    Wow.. amazing book. It had me hooked from the first page. Brilliant characters and a wonderful story. Not one dull page in the whole book.
  • Why am I reviewing this

    1
    By Syd04962
    [Contains spoilers I guess. Fellow readers beware] Backstories were revealed to quickly and conversations had little to no meaning in the realms of character development. Every character was boringly superficial and easy to pick apart (Cain's mother's "twist" was so predictable it was almost laughable) with the exception of main character Riley of course, who nevertheless was about as likeable as a healthy case of foot fungus. Being irritatingly rash, regularly throwing temper tantrums and being consistently naive do not make for the traits of the "strong independent heroine" she's supposed to be that is shoved down our throats the entirety of the novel. And in a novel where the world is against her, you think she'd have been written with some even vaguely likeable traits that the reader could possibly relate to. I would go so far as to say there wasn't a single character in the book that I could bring myself to think fondly of. Not even Cain, presented as the dream boy-next-door figure who reads Romeo and Juliet in his spare time and is perfectly ready to murder both his parents in cold bloo-... wait a sec. The plot was an interesting (if not that original) concept and was the main reason I stuck the entire novel out. However, the whole thing was just too underdeveloped and rushed to get anywhere near the potential I know it had. References to current day appliances such as computers were clumsily executed and came across as more of afterthoughts in not being consistent throughout the novel. Towards the end - and indeed throughout the book - everything was too convenient and unrealistic, no matter how many "suspension of disbelief" talks I gave myself. In short, this book was a bit of a waste of time. It might be fair to say I'm holding too-high of standards toward a free young adult romance ebook, but I've read some real gems on this site that by far defy the genre's less-than-superb reputation for writing standard. Therefore Ms. Author (I can't read your name without deleting this review), please take my words into account.