The House - Simon Lelic

The House

By Simon Lelic

  • Release Date: 2017-08-17
  • Genre: Crime & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 98 Ratings

Description

'HUGELY GRIPPING AND SPOOKY AS HELL' Mark Billlingham

The heart-stopping thriller about a husband and wife who are hiding something from each other, and from you...This book won't let you go until you've found out the truth. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Gillian Flynn and Fiona Barton.

Whose story do YOU believe?

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door.

AND NOW THE POLICE ARE WATCHING THEM.

'AN INTRICATE AND POWERFUL THRILLER' Tana French

'TAUGHT, TENSE AND TERRIFYING, I LOVED IT' Sharon Bolton

'O.M.G . I just devoured this gem...Perfect execution of a psychological thriller right here.' Reader review

'Brilliant. This is how I like my psychological thrillers. Clever, twisted and unexpected.' Reader review

'Hooked from page one! I started this book last night and couldn't put it down.' Reader review

'Lelic can plot like a demon' Guardian

'A brilliantly tense and shocking thriller. I literally couldn't put it down!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones

'Really creepy and clever. I loved it.' Julia Crouch

'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife

'An intriguing and suspenseful read' Cath Staincliffe

'Brilliantly dark and gripping...Plays on the fundamental fear that the building blocks of our existence - home, relationships, family - may not be as secure as we like to think' Thomas Mogford

'Creepy and totally gripping. A real page-turner. I loved it' Claire McGowan

'Absorbing, convincing and truly frightening ' The Times

'Powerful... A gripping, disturbing read' Marie Claire

'One of the genre's rising stars' Metro

'A writer to whom attention must be paid' Independent

'Electrifying' The New York Times

Reviews

  • Rambling

    2
    By Icemaiden33
    Too much rambling for me. The story only really starts to become coherent towards the end. Very far fetched and ‘the house’ not really the focus. Maybe it’s just because it turned out to be a very different kind of story / book to what I was expecting, or because lots of the reviews seemed to hype it up. Sure lots will enjoy, just not my cup of tea sorry.
  • The House

    4
    By Big gals
    A genuinely gripping thriller which deals effectively with issues like attitudes to Immigrants, the housing crisis and mainly the abuse of children and its effects as the survivors grow up. It starts as if it’s going to be a Gothic horror but gradually changes into a story of events far more real and horrific than ghosts and vampires. The way the story alternates between narrators is at first annoying but I got used to it and now see a more traditional format might not have been as effective in keeping me guessing. You have to like a book where people fleeing wars are portrayed as human, just like us with the same fears and needs but just unlucky to have been born somewhere The West had interests. I could go on but will leave you to discover the qualities of The House fir yourself.
  • Couldn’t stop reading.....

    5
    By jimmysmuma
    ....amazing book. Really dark & has you thinking it’s a ghost story in the beginning. Brilliant. 5 stars
  • Good read

    4
    By Sammybabbbyyyy!!!
    Not as exciting as I hoped and I would have liked it more if it had been more haunted house than psycho thriller. It would have been a bit more interesting if the side storylines had been more intense and in depth as we only get tiny glimpses of the secondary and tertiary players in this novel and some had the basis for an interesting book on there own. This is a quick read and it's ok I'm getting a little tired og girl on the train type stuff now. We need someone to write about a new concept or one that we haven't read for a few years but this book does have a twist at the end although I'd guessed what it would be long before the last chapter This is not a bad book and it's quite a good bedtime story. Well I thought it was. I'd recommend it for people who like thrillers and murder mystery books.
  • Fantastic ending

    4
    By Nic330011
    Slow start but fantastic ending part 2 had me gripped had to finish it
  • The House

    5
    By Miss Pipistrelle
    Loved this book, kept me enthralled all the way through. Brilliantly written & can't wait to read the next!
  • Doug

    2
    By honest jo
    Couldn't really get into this at all. The whole plot seemed very unlikely and not really believable. Couldn't connect to the characters and lost interest about half way through. Forced myself to finish it and gave up before the end.
  • Rvdry

    3
    By Zubair AFG
    La forth oh wljdzr ggxboyy vroom ta Xbox Vy yand mc
  • Brilliant!

    5
    By Luna762779804436
    Loved it, so cleverly written. Read without breathing:-)
  • Gripping

    5
    By Mollimill
    Read it in a few hours mainly because I NEEDED to know how it ended, it was so twisty and gripping....really great book