The Songs of Us - Emma Cooper

The Songs of Us

By Emma Cooper

  • Release Date: 2018-05-31
  • Genre: Contemporary
Score: 5
5
From 12 Ratings

Description

'Best book I have read this year' Amazon Reviewer

'Quirky, clever, and original, this will break your heart, but put it back together again'
Katie Fforde

'This is a very special book indeed: funny, powerful, heart-wrenching and so poignant'
Jo Thomas

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a laugh-out-loud, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.

If Melody hadn't run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn't be left with a condition that makes her sing when she's nervous. And she definitely wouldn't have belted out the Arctic Monkeys' 'I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor' in assembly at her son's school.

If Dev hadn't taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn't have happened. He wouldn't have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life's heart.

But if they hadn't seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be 'Us'.

Readers LOVE The Songs of Us:

'One of my favourites of 2018'

'Reminiscent of (and in my humble opinion right up there with) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and Cecilia Ahern's PS I Love You'

'Funny, heartbreaking and beautifully written...an absolute triumph!

'This book is something really special, I might even venture to say, perfect'

'Absolutely wonderful, can't recommend it highly enough'

'This book really is something very special. And oh, the ending. Perfect, just perfect!'

'Wow, wow and wow, what a wonderful and unique storyline'

'A charming and captivating novel which will make you laugh, give you hope, break your heart and restore your faith in true love'

'I can't remember the last time I was so moved by a book'

'If you want a book that makes you giggle and ugly cry at the same time... this is a must read!'

'Wow....loved loved loved this book, I so did not want this to end'

'Rarely does a book come along that is as unique and mesmerising as The Songs Of Us'

'It had me laughing and crying in equal measures'

'The Songs of Us will soften your heart and make you smile'

'Get your hands on a copy now. TRUST ME.'

'I could not put it down ... I really do highly recommend this book'

Reviews

  • The songs of us

    5
    By Housesearcher3103
    This is a beautifully written book. The characters are real, and draw you into the story. There is a lot of comedy, tinged with the tragedy of real life. It’s the sort of book that you are sad to finish. I’m going to tell all my friends about it.
  • Tear jerker

    5
    By nels_unique
    Wow what an awesome book. It really pulls at the heart strings..I had to gulp down the lump in my throat several times..the art of fine writing. Must read.
  • The songs of us

    5
    By Saspirella
    Beautiful read difficult at the beginning but once into it I found it profound and very moving. I can't wait to read more from this author.