The Daughter - Lucy Dawson

The Daughter

By Lucy Dawson

  • Release Date: 2018-01-24
  • Genre: Crime & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 66 Ratings

Description

'Gripped me and didn’t let go until the wickedly twisted ending.’ Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost YouA heartbreaking and unputdownable psychological thriller perfect for fans of Linda Green, K.L. Slater and Teresa Driscoll.

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone's determined to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn’t paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she’s kept all these years.

What everyone's saying about The Daughter:

Omg this book was soooo good. I couldn't put it down… It was such a shocking twist at the end. All the revelations that came to light at the end were fantastic. This book had everything. Great characters, content and a shocking ending. What more do you want from a book?’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

Full of suspense and had me biting my nails down to my knuckles!!... This was a fantastic book, which I would highly recommend if you love a good thriller! You will certainly not be disappointed with this one!’ 5 stars, Stardust Book Reviews

Tense, twisty and all too close to home: Lucy Dawson is brilliant at spinning our worst nightmares from everyday scenarios.’ Erin Kelly author of He Said/She Said

I flew through it. It's a hold your breath, race to the end, one-sitting read. Delicious twists!’ Jo Spain, author of The Confession

This book is INTENSE. Be prepared for one heck of a thrilling ride!’ Goodreads reviewer

Holy twist and turns!!… There will be moments of awe, surprise, shock, a few shakes of the head, and tons of questions, but this story caters to the readers who love a good psychological thriller that will have you questioning every single character in the book.’ Goodreads reviewer

Oh MY, OHH MYY! WOOW, this was soo INTENSE!!... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. The first few chapters just tore at my heartstrings! This riveting story will definitely have you reading until the small hours… Let's just say, this book is the reason I love this genre!’ Goodreads reviewer

I didn’t want to stop!... It was a surprising ending, not what I was expecting at all.’ Goodreads reviewer

I loved it!! I read it in around a day as I found the really hard to put down. A fabulous read that I can highly recommend’ Goodreads reviewer

‘The first chapters are a heart-wrenching, one tissue won't be enough, tearjerker… The ending is a never-saw-it-coming surprise.’ Goodreads reviewer

From the first page, I was drawn to the story and I couldn’t wait to finish it.’ 5 stars, Books in the Dark

Wow... I couldn’t put this book down.’ Goodreads reviewer

A scary psychological novel with an exceptionally well-written plot… the end was completely unexpected and left me open-mouthed.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

I read it in 24 hours, could not put it down. I could not have foreseen the ending in a million years.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

A brilliant read with huge suspense! I was genuinely frightened at times which was fantastic. A brilliant twist at the end!!’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

Reviews

  • The daughter

    5
    By emma nutrock
    The author describes losing a child accurately. I know from experience. A very good read with an unexpected twist. Highly recommended.
  • Amazing book

    5
    By Sraheel22
    Loved the book, interesting story and I throughly enjoyed reading the book
  • Amazing

    5
    By Wazzawsw
    I read a lot of books on here and never usually leave reviews but I feel compelled to after reading this in just one day. I couldn’t put it down! One of the most gripping stories I’ve ever read, I’ll definitely be downloading another by you!
  • Good story

    4
    By Lillith/laska
    I enjoyed this book, not the best writing how ever the actual storyline kept me interested. On the whole an easy read.
  • great book

    4
    By gladiator1984
    great book nothing else to say. don't really like books that headline a twist but still worth it even though was able to work things out for myself.
  • Gripping

    5
    By lublue87
    Great story.. well worth a read.. I read in 3 days!!
  • The daughter

    5
    By paulwheeler
    This book was amazing couldn’t put it down defo a must read book! Brilliant twist too!