American Gods - Neil Gaiman

American Gods

By Neil Gaiman

  • Release Date: 2011-11-10
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 201 Ratings

Description

American Gods, the extraordinary, highly acclaimed epic novel from storytelling genius and international bestseller Neil Gaiman, was brought vividly to life this year in the hottest major TV show of 2017 , and Amazon Prime video series starring Ricky Whittle, Ian McShane, Emily Browning and Gillian Anderson. For fans of The Book of Dust and Mythos by Stephen Fry.

'Gaiman is a treasure-house of story and we are lucky to have him' Stephen King

After three years in prison, Shadow has served his time. But as the days and hours until his release tick away, he can feel a storm brewing.

Two days before his release date, his wife Laura dies in a mysterious car crash, in adulterous circumstances. Dazed, Shadow travels home, only to encounter the bizarre Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America. Together they embark on a very strange journey across the States, along the way solving the murders which have occurred every winter in one small American town.

But the storm is about to break . . .

Disturbing, gripping and profoundly strange, Gaiman's epic novel sees him on the road to the heart of America.

Reviews

  • Pleasantly confused.

    5
    By No££££Left
    Wonderful, I'll be reading this book again and again.
  • Kn

    5
    By Unbelievable Jeff II
    BBYOBglbbbu bu y h by job fb. Holyheadhyvhuby bbbumyy tbuuhhyfmh. Bhujyh
  • American gods

    1
    By jimothy january
    Imbongolo yami
  • American Gods

    5
    By Splurgewins
    What a fantastic read. How on earth they could possibly make a film or TV series of this..I just don't know. Please Neil Gaiman, write more Dr Who's...The Doctor needs you.
  • amazing

    5
    By Yikes :/
    i bought this book irl and it's honestly amazing. it's sorta meandering but not in a way that's boring or annoying. the main character, shadow, is The Best. he's spent 3 years in prison and he gets picked up by mr wednesday (and if u kno ur history u will probably be able to guess which god this is) and he takes him around the states doing little jobs for him and stuff. the main theme of the book is so huge and it's amazing that an author could handle it so expertly. i can't even think of 1 bad thing to say abt this and i'm so glad it's becoming a series.
  • Fabulous (are tales of gods fables?)

    5
    By Abbddb
    One of my favourite books of the last decade. I've bought the evoke in order to have it around for casual ad hoc reading when the traditional copy is safely at home. The whole book works beautifully despite my occasional awareness of the paucity of female protagonists. Not a deal breaker though more a gnawing awareness.
  • Couldn’t put it down if I tried

    5
    By DoLalls
    I was a bored 17 year old who hated reading when my Libranian Mother bought this book home for me, she placed a £5 bet that I couldnt read it in one week. The £5 trophy was irrelivant, I simply could not put this book down and spent my holidays reading for hours and hours everyday and absolutly smashed the bet. Through Neverwhere and American Gods, Gaiman created a new found love for reading, now at 25 I am never with out a book. American Gods is simply spell binding and enthrawling, I highly recommend giving it a read before the series comes out next year
  • Brilliant.

    5
    By Kerouac-Cody.
    I loved this book - Couldn't put it down. Even if you aren't a Gaiman fan, it's definitely worth a try. Certainly makes you think and stays with you long after the final page.
  • American Gods Changed My Life

    5
    By Claire McEwan
    A confused and yet mystically wonderful piece of art. I got lost but Gaiman found me. This book changed my life. I believe you all need to read this before the end.